Blackpool musicals, shows and performances to book for 2022

Blackpool’s theaters are a beacon for musicals, family shows and live shows.

And 2022 in the seaside town is no different, with a packed schedule of West End shows as part of a tour across the UK to map top singers and bands.

We also expect to see more theatrical events added to the calendar as the year progresses, for theaters like the Winter Gardens and the Grand Theatre. And we’ll bring you all the latest news as soon as it’s announced.

Two touring shows have recently been added to the roster: Footloose: The Musical and The Osmonds – a New Musical.

READ MORE: What to expect in Lancashire in 2022, from Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s Valhalla to restaurant openings

Good toe tapping Free from all ties returns by popular demand for a five-day run at the Winter Gardens from April 11-16 while The Osmonds, will perform live from March 29 to April 2.

Here’s our monthly highlights of shows coming to Blackpool in 2022:

January

Lost in the music at the Grand Théâtre

Take a trip through some 70s classics and enjoy the disco beats

When: Saturday January 15. Book tickets

you won again @ Grand Theater

What: Straight from the West End, enjoy some of the Bee Gees’ greatest hits including Stayin’ Alive and Night Fever

When: Thursday January 20. Book tickets

February

Burn the Floor with Kevin Clifton @ Opera House, Blackpool Winter Gardens

Former Strictly Come Dancing pro dancer Kevin brings this “feisty, energetic and groundbreaking” ballroom show to town.

When: Thursday February 10. Book tickets

Friends – The Musical Parody @ Opera House

A hilarious, uncensored look through the best moments of the American sitcom Friends and the six main characters – Ross, Chandler, Rachel, Monica, Joey and Phoebe.

When: Thursday February 24. Book tickets

March

The Osmonds – a new musical @ Opera House

A celebration of the music, life and career of one of the world’s greatest boy bands

When: From Tuesday March 29 to Saturday April 2. Book tickets

Gangsta Granny @ Grand Theater

David Walliam’s story has been turned into an award-winning musical suitable for the whole family

When: From Thursday March 31 to Sunday April 3. Book tickets

April



Former X Factor star Jake Quickenden to star in Footloose in Blackpool

Footloose: the musical at the opera

The star-studded cast includes Jake Quickenden as Willard and Darren Day as Reverend Moore as the 80s film comes to life on stage in Blackpool.

When: From Monday April 11 to Saturday April 16. Book tickets

Kinky Boots @ Grand Theater

Follow Charlie Price on his journey of self-discovery after his father dies and leaves his shoe business to him

When: From Wednesday April 13 to Saturday April 16. Book tickets

Can

Strictly Come Dancing: Opera Professionals

Fans of the BBC competition can see their favorite dancers take to the floor with some of their most popular routines

When: Wednesday May 25 and Thursday May 26. Book tickets

The Cher Show at the Opera

Chronicling six decades of the career of this pop idol with classic tracks such as The Shoop Shoop Song, I got You babe and Strong Enough mixed in

When: From Tuesday May 31 to Saturday June 4. Book tickets

June

Magic of Motown @ Grand Theater

Glitzy costumes, big numbers and daring dance routines – this show has it all, including classic hits from the biggest stars of the era such as Stevie Wonder, The Temptations and Diana Ross.

When: Sunday June 12. Book tickets



Faye Brookes as Roxie Hart, alongside West End favorite Djalenga Scott as Velma Kelly.
Faye Brookes (right) as Roxie Hart, alongside West End favorite Djalenga Scott as Velma Kelly.

Chicago @ Opera

Indulge in the dazzling brilliance of 1920s Chicago as you follow the story of Roxy Hart and her rival cellmate Velma Kelly.

When: From Tuesday 28 June to Saturday 2 July

July

Peppa Pig’s Best Day at the Grand Theater

Join Peppa and her family as she goes on an adventure in a show filled with games, dancing, singing and fun

When: Saturday July 16 and Sunday July 17 (morning and afternoon performances). Book tickets

Bat Out of Hell @ Opera

This musical tells the story of Strat and his “lost” friends, whose DNA has been frozen, meaning they remain young forever, but he falls in love with Raven, who will age normally. Get ready to listen to Meat Loaf’s greatest rock hits

When: From Tuesday 5 July to Saturday 9 July. Book tickets

August

Jersey Boys @ Opera

Follow the story of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons, who were four guys from New Jersey and how the very first note they sang changed their lives.

When: From Tuesday August 16 to Saturday August 27. Book tickets



Six is ​​coming to Blackpool in 2022
Six is ​​coming to Blackpool in 2022

Six: The Musical at the Opera

The Tudor production of the trials and tribulations of Henry VIII’s six wives with 21st century style and sass. This will be the case for divorcees! decapitated! live!

When: From Tuesday August 30 to Saturday September 3, 2022. Book tickets

September

Midnight Train to Georgia @ Opera House

Immerse yourself in the music of Gladys Knight, Hayley Ria Christian emulates the real magic the Empress of Soul delivers on stage.

When: Sunday September 11. Book tickets

October



Dreamgirls The Musical

Meet Effie, Lorrell and Deena, a trio of young singers in the turbulent 1960s, a revolutionary period in American music history, but how will they cope with the fame and fortune that come with superstardom?

When: From Tuesday 25 October to Saturday 5 November

November

Sleeping Beauty at the Grand Theater

The Russian State Ballet comes to town with an orchestra of more than 30 musicians to perform its classic fairy tale

When: Sunday November 20. Book tickets

December

Sleeping Beauty Pantomime @ Grand Theater

Panto is back and he’s ready to bring magic, music and mayhem

When: From Friday 2 December to Sunday 1 January. Book tickets

Elf the Musical

Adorable life-size elf Buddy finds himself in New York City, far from his North Pole home, but he’s about to discover his past and that all is not always as it seems.

When: From Thursday December 15 to Tuesday December 27. Book tickets

To stay informed, follow Check out Lans on Facebook and @LiveLancs on Twitter.

Do you have any news for us? Contact our news and tourism columnist on [email protected]

Get all the latest news delivered to your inbox daily with the Discover Lancs newsletter here.

Back To Top